Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Since I was a little girl, my grandmother has always dedicated a room in her home to be  “The White Room”. Inside this room, everything is mainly white. It looks like an antique dining room. There’s a beautiful, white, lacy tablecloth, white china with gold trim, white drapery, white candles, white carpet, etc. I mean, really it’s beautiful. But here’s the thing: no one ever uses that room. It is simply sitting there, waiting to be dusted every blue moon.

If we’re not careful, we will do the same thing with the gifts and talents inside of us. Our gifts and talents will remain amazing and beautiful, but unused. No one will ever know its value or potential if we don’t use them! We may “dust them off” every now and again in the comfort of our home, but how is that going to help anyone else?

I’m a firm believer that we were all given a purpose and a set of gifts and talents to help us fulfill that purpose. I also believe that our gifts and talents were given to us to help others. We were not made to be selfish, but to serve.

A friend of mine actually reminded me of this concept earlier this year. He kept telling me about the parable in Matthew 25:14-30 where a master gave a certain amount of talents (money) to three of his servants. Everyone doubled what was given unto them except one servant. Instead, he hid his out of fear. This is NOT what we were intended to do with our gifts and talents! I must admit, although I was using some of my gifts, I definitely was hiding others! Right then, I decided to make a change and start using those hidden gifts.

locked door

So,  my question is, what talents and gifts have YOU been hiding away in your “white room”? Are you going to be like the servants who doubled their gifts? Or are you going to continue to hide yours in fear? I challenge you to tap into those talents and gifts, and start walking in your purpose. Make a commitment to do one thing EVERY DAY that helps you fulfill your purpose. Don’t just make the commitment though…you have to actually FOLLOW THROUGH on your commitment.

Don’t think you can do it alone? I’ve got you covered! I’m actually hosting a 5 day Twitter challenge called #thewhiteroomchallenge. If you’re serious about wanting to tap into your unused gifts or talents, then this is the challenge for you! In this challenge, you’re going to identify your gifts, discover what’s been stopping you from using them so far, create a kick butt plan to be proactive, and actually take the first step in using your action plan. I’ll send an email each day detailing what you need to do. Once you’ve completed the task, I’d like for you to tweet about it using our hashtag #thewhiteroomchallenge. I also created a private Facebook group so you can communicate with others in the challenge and help motivate and encourage each other.

If this sounds like the challenge for you, then come join us! The challenge runs from November 30 – December 4. Don’t wait until the new year to make a change. Do it today! I can’t wait to see you get started on a new journey! 🙂

wrc

